Bourbon & Bridles Experience : GoToLouisville.com Official Travel Source





Loading your recommendations…

September 30th

Bourbon & Bridles Experience

  • Admission: $100 per person
  • Location: Kentucky Derby Museum
  • 704 Central Avenue\r\nKentucky Derby Museum
  • Louisville, Kentucky 40208
  • Time:
    2:00 PM to 3:30 PM
  • Contact: Susan Furlong
  • Email: sfurlong@derbymuseum.org
  • Phone: (502) 992-5910

Bourbon & Bridles Experience

recurring event

Bourbon and Bridles Experience

Thursdays and Fridays, 2 p.m.

Combine two of Kentucky’s most treasured icons: bourbon and Thoroughbreds. This hour-long experience starts with an exciting tour at Churchill Downs, intertwining the history of bourbon and horse racing in Kentucky. At the end, learn how to make a mint julep, and of course, sip one!

While walking through historic Churchill Downs, learn fun facts about why horse racing and bourbon go together, including what makes a Thoroughbred a Thoroughbred? And a bourbon a bourbon? Pick up facts about distillery owners who have won the Derby, and how some guests imbibed on Derby day during Prohibition.

The tour ends inside the Museum, an official stop on Louisville’s Urban Bourbon Trail where guests can get their Urban Bourbon Trail passport stamped. There, guests will enjoy a bourbon tasting along with an interactive lesson on how to make the famous Mint Julep, and then taste one. Guests will also enjoy Louisville’s Modjeska candy, named after the famous actress who attended the third running of the Kentucky Derby in 1877, and who took quite a liking to the Mint Julep.

Everyone will receive a gift bag as part of their experience.

 

Tour Details:

  • Thursdays & Fridays, 2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.
  • 90 minutes
  • Up to 10 guests each tour
  • $100/person (includes General Admission to the Museum)
  • Adults 21+
  • Includes a gift bag with Mint Julep syrup and recipe, Modjeska candy, a Derby glass, and more!

*Check in at Museum front desk 15 minutes prior to tour start time.

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Thursday, September 30
  • Friday, October 1
  • Thursday, October 7
  • Friday, October 8
  • Thursday, October 14
  • Friday, October 15
  • Thursday, October 21
  • Friday, October 22
  • Thursday, October 28
  • Friday, October 29
  • Thursday, November 4
  • Friday, November 5
  • Thursday, November 11
  • Friday, November 12
  • Thursday, November 18
  • Friday, November 19
  • Thursday, November 25
  • Friday, November 26
  • Thursday, December 2
  • Friday, December 3
  • Thursday, December 9
  • Friday, December 10
  • Thursday, December 16
  • Friday, December 17
  • Thursday, December 23
  • Friday, December 24
  • Thursday, December 30
  • Friday, December 31
  • Thursday, January 6
  • Friday, January 7
  • Thursday, January 13
  • Friday, January 14
  • Thursday, January 20
  • Friday, January 21
  • Thursday, January 27
  • Friday, January 28
  • Thursday, February 3
  • Friday, February 4
  • Thursday, February 10
  • Friday, February 11
  • Thursday, February 17
  • Friday, February 18
  • Thursday, February 24
  • Friday, February 25
  • Thursday, March 3
  • Friday, March 4
  • Thursday, March 10
  • Friday, March 11
  • Thursday, March 17
  • Friday, March 18
  • Thursday, March 24
  • Friday, March 25
  • Thursday, March 31
  • Friday, April 1
  • Thursday, April 7
  • Friday, April 8
  • Thursday, April 14
  • Friday, April 15
  • Thursday, April 21
  • Friday, April 22
  • Thursday, April 28
  • Friday, April 29
  • Thursday, May 5
  • Friday, May 6
  • Thursday, May 12
  • Friday, May 13
  • Thursday, May 19
  • Friday, May 20
  • Thursday, May 26
  • Friday, May 27
  • Thursday, June 2
  • Friday, June 3
  • Thursday, June 9
  • Friday, June 10
  • Thursday, June 16
  • Friday, June 17
  • Thursday, June 23
  • Friday, June 24
  • Thursday, June 30
  • Friday, July 1
  • Thursday, July 7
  • Friday, July 8
  • Thursday, July 14
  • Friday, July 15
  • Thursday, July 21
  • Friday, July 22
  • Thursday, July 28
  • Friday, July 29
  • Thursday, August 4
  • Friday, August 5
  • Thursday, August 11
  • Friday, August 12
  • Thursday, August 18
  • Friday, August 19
  • Thursday, August 25
  • Friday, August 26
  • Thursday, September 1
  • Friday, September 2
  • Thursday, September 8
  • Friday, September 9
  • Thursday, September 15
  • Friday, September 16
  • Thursday, September 22
  • Friday, September 23
RelatedPartners

Kentucky Derby Museum

Experience Derby Day, Every Day! General Admission includes a 30-minute historical walking tour of...