Black Heritage in Racing Tour : GoToLouisville.com Official Travel Source





Loading your recommendations…

Jan 23rd

Black Heritage in Racing Tour

  • Admission: $15 in addition to General Admission
  • Location: Kentucky Derby Museum
  • 704 Central Ave.
  • Louisville, Kentucky 40208
  • Time:
    1:00 PM to 2:30 PM
  • Phone: (502) 637-1111

Black Heritage in Racing Tour

recurring event

African Americans have played an integral role in the history of Thoroughbred Racing. From slavery, to the Civil War, the Jim Crow era that pushed them out of the sport and to modern day times, learn about the mark African Americans have made on horse racing from the very beginning. This 90 minute tour takes you through historic Churchill Downs Racetrack while learning about some of the most important African American figures in horse racing, and other names that aren’t as well known—but should be. Connect all the historic dots on this tour while making stops at significant places at Churchill Downs that illuminate these important stories.

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Saturday, March 6
  • Saturday, March 13
  • Saturday, March 20
  • Saturday, March 27
  • Saturday, April 3
  • Saturday, April 10
  • Saturday, April 17
  • Saturday, April 24
  • Saturday, May 1
  • Saturday, May 8
  • Saturday, May 15
  • Saturday, May 22
  • Saturday, May 29
  • Saturday, June 5
  • Saturday, June 12
  • Saturday, June 19
  • Saturday, June 26
  • Saturday, July 3
  • Saturday, July 10
  • Saturday, July 17
  • Saturday, July 24
  • Saturday, July 31
  • Saturday, August 7
  • Saturday, August 14
  • Saturday, August 21
  • Saturday, August 28
  • Saturday, September 4
  • Saturday, September 11
  • Saturday, September 18
  • Saturday, September 25
  • Saturday, October 2
  • Saturday, October 9
  • Saturday, October 16
  • Saturday, October 23
  • Saturday, October 30
  • Saturday, November 6
  • Saturday, November 13
  • Saturday, November 20
  • Saturday, November 27
  • Saturday, December 4
  • Saturday, December 11
  • Saturday, December 18
  • Saturday, December 25
  • Saturday, January 1
  • Saturday, January 8
  • Saturday, January 15
  • Saturday, January 22
  • Saturday, January 29
  • Saturday, February 5
  • Saturday, February 12
  • Saturday, February 19
  • Saturday, February 26
RelatedPartners

Kentucky Derby Museum

Experience Derby Day, Every Day! General Admission includes a 30-minute historic walking tour of...